Nicole Audet – Writing with Passion

Author’s Digest hopes all our readers had a great weekend, and are enjoying the holiday season as Christmas approaches. Today we wrap up our interview with AuthorHouse’s Dr. Nicole Audet, whose self-published children’s book Parents for Sale has accumulated an impressive list of awards and accolades.

 

The first two parts the interview are available in our Author Blogs section.

 

Parents for SaleNicole, last time you explained the inspiration behind Parents for Sale. How long did it take you to finish it?

 

This book took me a year to write in French, five years trying to sell it to editors and six months to translate it and self-publish it.

 

What’s the one message you’d like to convey to readers through your book?

 

The first and most important lesson in this book is the importance of children doing their share of the responsibilities for pet care.

 

What was your favorite part of the self-publishing experience?

 

I liked my relationship with my book consultant. He was generous with his time to help me to publish my book. I enjoyed controlling all steps of writing, publishing and marketing my book. I’ve published 15 books with traditional publishers, and I realize the difference. Both have their advantages and limits.

 

What advice would you give to other aspiring authors?

 

My message to young authors are to write with passion, dream big, keep focused, and hire experts to edit, design, and market their books. Hire a writing coach before submitting your manuscript, and enter as many contests as you can. Winning awards or honorable mentions gives credibility to your work.

 

nicole-audet2What’s your next writing project?

 

In November 2015, I published two 24-page bilingual (English/French) picture books called Are You Eating My Lunch? and Strike At Charles’ Farm. These bedtime stories will help young children learn a second language. In the near future, I hope to publish them in English and Spanish. I have many picture book manuscripts ready to be published under my new pen name, Dr. Nicole.

 

Are there any events or promotions planned for your book?

 

Branding my name as Dr. Nicole (in the tradition of Walt Disney or Dr. Seuss) and designing a new website (www.DrNicolebook.com) should help me market my books. My book consultant and AuthorHouse specialists helped me select the best marketing services for me; among the most effective are press releases and author/book videos.

 

———————————

 

Thank you very much for your time, Dr. Nicole, and we look forward to your upcoming books. Parents for Sale and Are You Eating My Lunch? (which recently won a Silver Medal from the Mom’s Choice Awards) are available in the AuthorHouse Bookstore, both great gifts for the young readers on your Christmas list.

 

You can also check out Nicole’s book video on YouTube!

 

Thanks for visiting Author’s Digest!

 

 

Nicole Audet

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>